..
by rule, what is the correct call here ? If you are a runner angling towards the pylon and the ball touches it, TD. but if your toe is in the endzone and your knee touches said pylon simultaneously, you are out of bounds ? Fox announcers thought we were gifted.
If you touch the pylon you are out of bounds. The reason it counts as a td is because if the ball touches it, it should theoretically have crossed the plane. However, that should probably be revised to "touching the inside" of the pylon...otherwise, it doesn't add up.
Player Out of Bounds
ARTICLE 1. a. A player is out of bounds when any part of his person touches
anything, other than another player or game official, on or outside a boundary
line (A.R. 4-2-1-I and II).
b. A player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.
http://www.dfoa.com/attachments/article/69/2013-14_Football_Rule_Book.pdf (Pg. FR-59)
[/quote]
Similarly, there's likely a rule that says you're in bounds if a catch is made with at least one foot inside the boundary. And he had one foot in, likely before he touched the pylon. Either way, the rules dictate that he was both in and out of bounds at the same time.