Author Topic: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?  (Read 5953 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online K-S-U-Wildcats!

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 3226
    • View Profile
Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« on: March 24, 2010, 12:05:41 PM »
Moving to Overland Park and looking for advice on cable providers.  Looks like SureWest is cheaper, but I want a nice DVR.  Anybody know what model HD-DVRs SureWest and Time Warner use?  Other thoughts on these providers would also be appreciated.


(Want to get rid of the ad? Register now for free!)

Offline steve dave

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 51374
  • SP? all of that--->
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 12:07:17 PM »
When it comes to cable always go with the big name.  Always. 

Offline Pete

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 17915
  • @Pete_goEMAW_com
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 12:08:30 PM »
I have SureWest, and the DVR.  It's HD, and can record two programs at one time.   I have no issues with it.

Time Warner will give you Metro Sports, and they play a bunch of Mizzou games.
Quote from: fatty fat fat
Whether you are celebrating on the plains of kansas, or the mountains of north carolina, sit back and have a cold one today and be proud of yourself. you are a cat football fan, and there is nothing better on the earth.

Offline pissclams

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 27781
  • (worst non-premium poster at goEMAW.com)
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 01:04:31 PM »
both are fine.  use one to drive the other's price down.  DVR is better with TWC.


Cheesy Mustache QB might make an appearance.

New warning: Don't get in a fight with someone who doesn't even need to bother to buy ink.

Offline wELLsculptedbrows

  • Combo-Fan
  • **
  • Posts: 456
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 02:54:45 PM »
There's no contract with Surewest, which is nice.

It does sometimes suck to not have Metro Sports though.

The DVR I have is Scientific American, or whatever, and I have had no issues with it.

yoga-like_abana

  • Guest
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 03:00:12 PM »
Curious if anyone here can vouch for Big Jims Plumbing Service in the Overland Park area?

Offline Pete

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 17915
  • @Pete_goEMAW_com
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 03:03:43 PM »
Curious if anyone here can vouch for Big Jims Plumbing Service in the Overland Park area?

DO NOT USE!

I switched over to Bob Hamilton (mostly because of the jingles) and haven't looked back.
Quote from: fatty fat fat
Whether you are celebrating on the plains of kansas, or the mountains of north carolina, sit back and have a cold one today and be proud of yourself. you are a cat football fan, and there is nothing better on the earth.

Offline Cire

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 10755
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 04:49:44 PM »
Everyone I know that can have it has Everest

Online ben ji

  • PCKK7DC Survivor
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *******
  • Posts: 5818
  • Alot of people dont hit on an 18
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2010, 04:57:09 PM »
Everyone I know that can have it has Everest

Ditto, I have TWC because Everest isnt in my area and it rough ridin' sucks. I've had to have a repair man come out to my APT twice to fix something. It freezes about once a month requiring 15 min to reboot. I also get weird interference when recording shows sometimes, it gets really choppy and the sound is all mumped up.

And I'm off the soap box
"I think my grandpa killed some body once, he never liked to talk about Kent State though"

Offline slimz

  • Artisanal Posts
  • PCKK7DC Survivor
  • Katpak'r
  • *******
  • Posts: 2132
  • Locally-sourced, carefully-curated EMAWing.
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2010, 12:05:53 PM »
TWC uses the Scientific Atlanta 8300HD.  It's pretty average.  Can only record two shows at once, and you can't watch a third channel while recording those.

I would recommend also taking a look at uVerse if it's available.  Different feature sets/channels/pricing, but it could better match what you want.

Offline Cire

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 10755
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2010, 12:33:20 PM »
I love Uverse

Offline Rick RowdyBoyy Daris

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 17932
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2010, 12:36:10 PM »
yeah, uverse will probably give you $300 or so just to join, so if you can get it i would. just cancel and join somewhere else after three months if you don't like it and you just got three months of cable for free.  :driving:

Offline JavaCat

  • Combo-Fan
  • **
  • Posts: 402
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2010, 01:11:46 PM »
What's everybody paying for TV/Internet and who do you have?

I've got TWC and pay $107 for digital TV w/DVR and cable internet. I've never had a problem, but would love to pay less than $100 for the same crap or get some movie channels for that price.

Offline steve dave

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 51374
  • SP? all of that--->
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2010, 01:13:32 PM »
What's everybody paying for TV/Internet and who do you have?

I've got TWC and pay $107 for digital TV w/DVR and cable internet. I've never had a problem, but would love to pay less than $100 for the same crap or get some movie channels for that price.

I pay roughly the same for the same stuff through Cox in Omaha. 

Offline Cire

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 10755
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2010, 01:32:51 PM »
no HD?

Offline steve dave

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 51374
  • SP? all of that--->
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2010, 01:34:00 PM »
no HD?

Our HD is free.  I can't think of a reg. def. channel that we don't have in HD.

Offline Rick RowdyBoyy Daris

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 17932
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2010, 01:37:38 PM »
i pay around 120 thru uverse. i got $350 to switch a couple of months ago. have three dvr boxes. sports pakage, movie package and some kind of kids package. uverse is kind of funny cause you can just call up an be like "i want this and this. and i want it for free or else!" then they'll just give it to you.

Offline JavaCat

  • Combo-Fan
  • **
  • Posts: 402
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2010, 01:38:11 PM »
TWC HD is "free" too.

Offline Cire

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 10755
    • View Profile

Online O-town Kat

  • Combo-Fan
  • **
  • Posts: 997
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2010, 10:32:51 PM »
Uverse if you can get it.  $90 for 2 boxes, U300 package (i think), HD, DVR, taxes .  don't have a home phone/internet bundle.  need to pay the extra $12/mo. to get the sports package next fall (those elusive CBS College Sports games).  do miss metro sports sometimes.  as mentioned they are negotiable.

Offline hemmy

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 6008
  • RIP The After Party
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2010, 02:13:50 PM »
Technically, HD is free from Cox, but they make you rent a box to get all the HD channels :dunno:

My TV alone from Cox is 75/mo with HD channels plus HBO and Cinemax

Offline Dugout DickStone

  • Global Moderator
  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • *****
  • Posts: 26844
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2010, 04:04:46 PM »
Curious if anyone here can vouch for Big Jims Plumbing Service in the Overland Park area?

DO NOT USE!

I switched over to Bob Hamilton (mostly because of the jingles) and haven't looked back.


Wow Mr. Buffet, I thought Bob Hamilton folks just threw out ther plumbing and bought new whenever it broke.

Offline Skipper44

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 4342
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2010, 09:08:28 PM »
Disclaimer: SureWest is not available in my neighborhood, but this part of the good I have heard about it.

One cool thing about SureWest is they do not encrypt the HD versions of ESPN, ESPN2, the U and others.  This is useful any HDTV that you do not want a box for (kitchen, bar area, garage, on the deck or patio, etc).  Comcast and Time Warner do not do this. 

Here is a link showing what you can get without a box if your HDTV has QAM tuner built into it.
http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/lineup_web/US:66061#lineup_1920914

This is also nice if you want to use your computer as a DVR.

Offline KITNfury

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 4052
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #23 on: March 29, 2010, 07:45:38 AM »
Disclaimer: SureWest is not available in my neighborhood, but this part of the good I have heard about it.

One cool thing about SureWest is they do not encrypt the HD versions of ESPN, ESPN2, the U and others.  This is useful any HDTV that you do not want a box for (kitchen, bar area, garage, on the deck or patio, etc).  Comcast and Time Warner do not do this. 

Here is a link showing what you can get without a box if your HDTV has QAM tuner built into it.
http://www.silicondust.com/hdhomerun/lineup_web/US:66061#lineup_1920914

This is also nice if you want to use your computer as a DVR.


I have Time Warner and I have a TV that works by just screwing the cable into the TV. No box.
Quiet Dear, Men are talking.

Offline Skipper44

  • Pak'r Élitaire
  • ****
  • Posts: 4342
    • View Profile
Re: Cable in KC: Time Warner or SureWest (Everest)?
« Reply #24 on: March 29, 2010, 10:36:43 AM »
Yes, but Time Warner only lets you get CBS, NBC, ABC, etc, correct?  I have been led to believe you can get almost all the HD channels w/o a box from SureWest  :dunno: